In 2009 Lewis Jordan and Ray Souter started the Mike Strub Challenge contest, to honor Mike Strub's inquisitory mind, tenacity in pursuing forest related questions, and not the least, its kindness. In 2012, John-Paul McTeague introduced two awards dedicated to the people who impressed the Southern Mensuerationists Annual Meeting audience. The two awards are dedicated to the best presentation of a student and the best presentation of a researcher. Because the two awards are decided at the end of the meeting, the awards are given during the following annual meeting.

In 2013 Dr. Strimbu proposed a new award, called "SOMENS Achievement Award", which honors people that contributed significantly to quantitative southern forestry. The award aims at senior researchers that are associated with the Southern Mensurationists group and have shaped the forest research of/from the southern region of the USA. Starting with 2013 the best poster award was also given.

SOMENS Achievement Award

2014 Mike Strub
2013 Harold Burkhart

Mike Strub Challenge Award

2013 Quang Cao

Best presentation scientist

2013 Chris Cieszewski
2012 John Kershaw

Best presentation of a student

2013 Samuel Egback

Best Poster

2013 Victor Strimbu